Sustainability Committee


About the Committee

The United Student Government (USG) Sustainability Committee seeks to make our university a sustainable institution. We believe that as a Jesuit university, Fordham has a responsibility to care for the continuing health of the planet and its people. Our objective is to pursue concrete, effective initiatives that advance the goal of a healthy, viable future. We push every student, faculty, and staff member to reduce their present environmental impact while also seeking to imbue them with a long-term sustainable mindset.

Please contact the Chairperson, Maggie Tattersfield, at

Sustainability Committee Meetings are open to all students. Weekly meetings are held in Campbell Multipurpose on Wednesdays at 6:30pm EST.

Budget Committee
The Sustainability Committee seeks to advocate for student interests in the area of Sustainability
  • Acts as a liaison to the Sustainability Council, administration, faculty, staff, and the student body about issues of sustainability. 
  • Serves as student body representatives on issues in sustainability.
  • Advocates for a shift towards a sustainable culture on campus.
  • Oversees the implementation of sustainable changes within the Fordham community and follows through on the progress and maintenance of these initiatives.
  • Identifies key issues of sustainability on campus by surveying the state of campus sustainability, as well as consulting other students about their concerns and bringing them to the attention of the committee.

USG Sustainability Committee Statement on Fast Fashion

A Statement Against Fast Fashion

Spring 2021 Subcommittees and Subcommittee Liaisons

  • 100% Renewable Energy with Environment America, Molly Gleason 
  • Dining, Nicolette Makris and Grace Dailey
  • Eco-Reps, Josephine Cohen, Molly Gleason, and Olivia Macdonald
  • Fordham Flea, Lauren Cassot and Liz Shim
  • Recycling, Caitlin Reilly and Allen Wang
  • Events, Kendall Cascell and Jonathan Eng
  • Landscaping with Herbicide Free Campus, Anthony Kraus and Amelia Medved
  • Communications, Andrew Falduto 
  • Change the Chamber, Colin Murphy

Liz Shim, Chair

Olivia Frantzeskos, Vice-Chair

Stephen Esposito, OSI Advisor

Amelia Medved, Landscaping Liaison

Andre Pulumbarit, Communications Liaison

Bridget Gillon, Dining Liaison

Caitlin Reed, Change the Chamber Liaison

Hannah Hoeller, Fordham Flea Liaison

Ian Gere, Recycling Liaison

Josephine Cohen, Eco-Reps Liaison

Lauren Larsen, Events Liaison

Lucy Conlin, Eco-Reps Liaison

Saaya Hori, Events Liaison

Sophia Rust, Dining Liaison

Tayler Rogers, 100% Renewable Energy Liaison

Tierney Kulju, Landscaping Liaison

Cecelia Wells

Emma Vega

Grace Dailey

Karin Schroeder

Laira Bhurji

Matt Querfeld, 

Maxanne Millerhaller

Meg Cardi

Olivia Lilley

Paige Alcott